Safety Experts Raise Red Flag on Snapchat's Newest Feature

Posted June 26, 2017

However, child safety group Childnet International are concerned, in a new blog post, they wrote: "Given how specific this new feature is on Snapchat - giving your location to a precise pinpoint on a map - we would encourage users not to share their location, especially with people they don't know in person".

Snapchat has a new update that will make it easier for your friends to find you. Some people are excited about the new feature, while other people, like parents, are anxious about people's privacy.

If you do opt to allow some or all of your friends to view your location, keep in mind that the service will drain your phone's battery while it's on - but only about 0.3 to 0.4% per hour, according to Facebook. Snapchat's representatives say location sharing is off by default in a setting called "Ghost Mode".

But fair warning: that means that even if you're just opening the app and not posting anything, your location will still be updated.

"I think first and foremost parents need to be aware of it", Antony Francis with Head of Lettuce Media said.

Francis said parents should ask their kids to teach them how to use it.

You can update your location preferences at at any time by tapping your Bitmoji or selecting the settings icon in the upper right-hand corner.

Snap Map launched as part of an update to Snapchat's software earlier this week.

"Ghost mode" lets you look at others' locations without broadcasting your own.

Snap Maps was rolled out to several countries, including Canada, on Friday, and allows users to display their location on a map while using the app.

The spokesperson added: "It's also not possible to share your location with someone who isn't already your friend on Snapchat, and the majority of interactions on Snapchat take place between close friends".

FOX40 talked to a few Snapchat users and a parent of a user who all agree - it's creepy.