Just Kickin It: R&B group Xscape perform at BET Awards

Posted June 26, 2017

(CNN) - The biggest stars in sports, film and music will descend on Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles on Sunday to celebrate the accomplishments of African-American and other minority entertainers. One of the power-packed and electrifying performances of the evening was none other than our "24K Magic" man, Bruno Mars. "I want to be a better father to [1-year-old daughter] Kensli, I want to spend more time with her".

"I wanna thank God first and foremost", said Ma, who also won the honor in 2005.

Performers include Blige, Brown, DJ Khaled, Lil Wayne, Maxwell, New Edition, Future, Xscape, A$AP Rocky, French Montana, Gucci Mane and El DeBarge.

When I was first connected on the phone with Jones, she was in the middle of ordering a margherita pizza. She'll probably win again this year, but she will, at least, have some competition from Missy Elliott, Cardi B and Remy Ma.

Beyonce, who reportedly had her twins earlier this month though she hasn't commented on the topic, is also nominated for best female R&B/pop artist, pitting her against her sister Solange, Mary J. Blige and Kehlani. "I was gonna tell those judges that we just need a conviction when you know these [bankers] are wrong for doing this". New Edition, who had success with their BET biopic this year, will receive the lifetime achievement award, while Chance the Rapper will earn the humanitarian award.

Not having access to a television during the award show will not prove to be a problem as viewers have the option of live streaming the ceremony at Bet.Com. Beyoncé and Bruno Mars top the list of most nominations this year, with seven and five nominations respectively, with Chance the Rapper, Solange and Migos each up for four awards themselves.

Offset, from left, Quavo and Takeoff, of Migos, accept the award for best group at the BET Awards at the Microsoft Theater on Sunday, June 25, 2017, in Los Angeles. Drake will go head to head with the likes of Future, Kendrick Lamar, J. Cole, Chance the Rapper and Big Sean for a chance to take home the coveted trophy. This year, the ceremony will be hosted by Ghostbusters actress Leslie Jones with the likes of Jamie Foxx, Trevor Noah and Yara Shahidi as trophy presenters.