What it means for you

Posted May 19, 2017

For example, if a user visits shopping websites on laptop with Twitter signed-in then they can use the Personalisation and Data settings to help control whether the platform should show shopping related ads on Twitter for Android or iOS.

To see which interests Twitter thinks you have, go to Settings - "Your Twitter data".

Back in 2012, Twitter made a decision to honor Do Not Track, which is basically an honor system for web tracking.

Other important changes in the update include Twitter dropping support for "Do Not Track", which "allows users to opt-out from being tracked by third-party services on websites they do not directly visit".

For those who don't want Twitter snooping on the websites they visit, there is a way to switch off the tracking. Previously, Twitter saved that data for 10 days, but will now keep it for 30.

All of these changes have been done as Twitter's stocks have been slowly declining. However, but Twitter acknowledges that partners may be able to link up with their own data to determine this kind of personal data, if they have user consent. These updates have a clear objective, and that;s to make Twitter more attractive to online advertisers.

Data sharing: Twitter has updated how it shares non-personal, aggregated, and device-level data, including through some select partnership agreements.

It is no surprise that users are flocking to that new open-source and privacy-focused Twitter clone named Mastodon.

New controls: New Personalisation and Data settings that offer more granular control over how Twitter uses their subscribers' data.

Nonetheless, Twitter, as a company, is more upfront about this practice than most and is providing an option to disable targeted ads, and a section where users can edit and even remove the data Twitter has collected in the past. Of course, the way you get connected to such personalization is by allowing Twitter to share more information with advertisers about you and your browsing habits. Among the options in this section is one to "personalize across your devices". Some users, including your reporter, have reported that these new privacy settings remained on, even after specifically being turned off a couple of times.