Uttar Pradesh Assembly passes GST Bill

Posted May 18, 2017

Apart from the GST bill, Amendments to the Public Service Act to make Ace badminton player P V Sindhu the Deputy Collector was passed.

But on the other hand, what the viewers saw was a different picture where their representative chose to dose off instead of putting up fruitful discussion on the passage of GST bill.

The Uttar Pradesh assembly on Tuesday unanimously passed the Uttar Pradesh Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill, 2017 with chief minister Yogi Adityanath assuring members that the new law would bring uniformity in taxes and that all their apprehensions were unfounded.

The leader of Opposition in Andhra Pradesh Assembly, Jagan Mohan Reddy a few days ago thundered that he will not let the assembly function and did exactly the same when the house sat for passing the GST bill.

The state government is confident that its tax revenue would increase under GST, which is touted as the most liberal tax structure to be adopted in the country. TDP MLA, Ananda Rao said GST will reduce transport costs.

Four key GST legislations - the Central GST Act, the Integrated GST Act, the GST (Compensation to States) Act and the Union Territory GST Act - were passed by Parliament in its last session. GST is getting support from all over the country.

Earlier this month, the Goa, Gujarat and Arunachal Pradesh assemblies also passed the GST Bill, 2017. He said that GST will not cause burden to the customer and that it is being implemented around the world.

Uttar Pradesh had also witnessed its tax kitty burgeon under the Value Added Tax (VAT) regime. Now it requires nod of the states to notify rule and regulations by the respective state governments for its implementation from July. GST will ensure that there will be no evasion of tax.

Over 80% of the traders have registered to the new tax system and a help desk has been opened in the Commercial Taxes Department to clarify all the questions of traders in Puducherry.